Gluten Free Diet Foods List You Can Eat To Avoid Diseases

Monsoon Harvest Team
22 Sep , 2022

If you have been active on the internet and browsed content related to health and nutrition, chances are that you have come across the term, gluten free foods. Have you understood what it is and how eating gluten free food can affect your metabolism? Well, gluten is basically a group of proteins that is found in various types of grains. Lot of whole foods are part of naturally gluten free such as fruit and vegetables, dairy products, fresh meat, fish, eggs, poultry, legumes, whole grains, beans, seeds, nuts,  oils, condiments and sauces. People with condition of celiac disease should avoid gluten in order to safeguard there health from diseases. Below is the gluten free foods list that you can refer to make smart dietary choices to manage your gluten sensitivity.

Gluten Free Foods List

  • Whole Grains
  • Fruits And Vegetables
  • Dairy Products
  • Oils And Fats
  • Beverages
  • Condiments And Sauces
  •  

    1. Whole Grains

    Except from some of the grains, the majority of the grains are naturally gluten-free. However, while you want to stick to gluten free products, you must check the labels of the packets in which the grains are packed and sold. There are also some gluten-free plant parts which are consumed as breakfast cereal such as tapioca and buckwheat.

    Gluten Free Whole Grains

      The grains that you should avoid for having high gluten content are rye, wheat, triticale, and barley. 

      2. Fruits And Vegetables

      As we talk about fruits and vegetables, you do not have to worry a lot because they are naturally gluten-free, provided they are fresh. If you choose to consume processed fruits or vegetables, you need to know that they may contain gluten.

      Gluten Free Fruits

      • apples
      • citrus fruits like oranges and grapefruit
      • pears
      • bananas
      • peaches
      • berries

      Gluten Free Vegetables

      • green beans
      • carrots
      • cruciferous vegetables, such as cauliflower and broccoli
      • greens, like spinach, kale, and Swiss chard
      • starchy vegetables, like potatoes, corn, and squash
      • mushrooms
      • bell peppers
      • onions
      • radishes

      Fruits and vegetables that you should avoid

      • dried fruits and vegetables
      • pre-chopped fruits and vegetables
      • canned fruits and vegetables
      • frozen fruits and vegetables

      3. Dairy Products

      Since we are discussing gluten free items, how can we not mention dairy products? The common dairy products are usually naturally gluten-free. However, the ones that come with additives and colors must be avoided.

      Gluten Free Dairy Products

      • milk
      • yogurt
      • butter and ghee
      • cottage cheese
      • cheese
      • sour cream
      • cream

      Dairy products that you should avoid

      • malted milk drinks
      • flavored milk and yogurt
      • processed cheese and spreads
      • ice-cream

      4. Oils And Fats

      Most fats and oils found in nature are are naturally gluten-free. However, we must know that sometimes additives with gluten are added to the oils and fats to enhance the flavor.

      Gluten Free Oils and Fats

      • avocados and avocado oil
      • vegetable and seed oils such as canola oil sesame oil, , and sunflower oil
      • olive oil
      • coconut oil
      • butter and ghee

      Oils and fats that you should avoid

      • cooking sprays
      • oils that contain flavors or spices

      5. Beverages

      Now that we have discussed what foods are gluten free, we also must talk about the beverages products that are gluten-free. While you are having packaged beverages, you need to be very careful. There are quite many beverages that contain gluten. The ones in which additives are mixed should be avoided in every possible way.

      Gluten Free Beverages

      • water
      • 100% fruit juice
      • tea
      • coffee
      • alcoholic beverages, such as hard ciders, wine, and beer that are made from gluten free grains like buckwheat or sorghum
      • lemonade
      • some energy drinks, sports drinks, soda

      Beverages that you should avoid

      • distilled liquors
      • smoothies that are pre-made
      • beverages with flavors
      • malt beverages

      When you are consuming beverages, you should always read the labels for additives. You must not take it for granted and have anything that is offered to you.

      6. Condiments And Sauces

      Whether its condiment, spice, or sauce, they mostly have gluten. It is added to these items to bring a better flavor.

      Gluten Free Condiments And Sauces

      • Apple cider vinegar, white vinegar
      • coconut aminos

      Condiments, sauces and spices you should avoid

      • mayonnaise
      • Worcestershire sauce
      • ketchup and mustard
      • relish and pickles
      • tomato sauce
      • pasta sauce
      • barbecue sauce
      • salad dressing
      • rice vinegar
      • dry spices
      • salsa
      • marinades
      • stock and bouillon cubes
      • gravy and stuffing mixes

      Gluten Free Foods Benefits

      Gluten-free food benefits are many, especially if you have celiac disease or even mild gluten sensitivity. However, all the benefits may not be experienced by everyone since it depends on the kind of condition and lifestyle we have. Here are some of the benefits of having gluten-free food.

    • Bone Health Gets Better
    • Works on Stressed Skin
    • Bid adieu to joint pain
    • No more bloating
    •  

      1. Bone Health Gets Better

      When people with celiac disease keep eating food with gluten, they are mostly left with an upset stomach. This leads to avoid several types of food items and nutrients. However, when they start consuming gluten-free food, they get all kinds of nutrients, and some of them help in enhancing bone health.

      2. Works on Stressed Skin

      Those with gluten intolerance may develop eczema and plaque psoriasis. When you start consuming gluten-free food and beverages, you will also start noticing difference in your skin type.

      3. Bid adieu to joint pain

      If you have joint pain because of celiac disease, you can get rid of it by having food free of gluten.

      4. No more bloating

      One of the main problems we face is bloating when we consume food with gluten, especially if we are gluten intolerant. However, as we start having gluten-free food and beverages, we can experience lesser to no bloating. 

      With the list of gluten-free food and beverages, you are aware of what to opt for and what to avoid. Now all that you need to do is to choose food items that are free of gluten. 

      Found this article insightful? Visit the Monsoon Harvest Blogs to read more engaging blog posts related to health and nutrition foods. You can also visit Monsoon Harvest to buy healthy superfoods online.

      Frequently Asked Questions

      Q1. How to find gluten-free food?
      Ans: Finding gluten-free food is not difficult anymore, especially when you have a website like Monsoon Harvest. You can visit the website and click on the Gluten Free tab to find items like Breakfast Cereal - Choco Chip Oat Clusters & Ragi Flakes With Banana, Gluten Free Instant Oats, High Fiber Breakfast Cereal - Ragi Flakes With Raisins etc.

      2. Is wheat gluten-free?
      Ans: No, wheat naturally contains gluten; therefore, it is not gluten-free.


      3. What foods can gluten intolerant people eat?
      Ans: The food options that are best for gluten intolerant people are gluten free rolled oats, quinoa, sorghum, wild rice, brown rice, yogurt, butter and ghee, cottage cheese, cheese, etc.

      4. Is milk gluten-free?
      Ans: Yes, milk is gluten-free. However, you must avoid flavored milk as it may have gluten added to it.

      5. Is poha gluten-free?
      Ans: Yes, poha is gluten-free and is a great breakfast and evening snack item.

      6. Is jowar gluten-free?
      Ans: Jowar is absolutely gluten-free and is mostly used in Ayurvedic cooking. Jowar helps in digesting food properly.

      7. Is bajra gluten-free?
      Ans: Bajra is gluten-free and can be consumed by people with celiac disease. However, you have to make sure it is free of cross-contamination with other grains containing gluten.

      Leave a Reply

      All blog comments are checked prior to publishing

      Please login and you will add product to your wishlist

      Added to cart successfully!
      Qty:
      Price:
      Total items in your cart

      Total: Rs. 0.00

      CONTINUE SHOPPING

      Added to wishlist successfully!

      }